Mother Tongue Language Department

1. Department Staff

Mrs Teo-Seet Chui Wan (HOD Mother Tongue Languages) seet_chui_wan@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Loo-Tan Pei Ghee (SH Chinese Language) tan_pei_ghee@moe.edu.sg
Mdm Lam Tze Kim (LT Chinese Language) lam_tze_kim@moe.edu.sg
Miss Chai Hsueh Chi Michelle chai_hsueh_chi_michelle@moe.edu.sg
Mdm Lee Chun Nee lee_chun_nee@moe.edu.sg
Mdm Rosnani Bte Suni rosnani_suni@moe.edu.sg
Mdm Sellaiah Kousalya sellaiah_kousalya@moe.edu.sg
Mdm Suriyanti Bte Jumari suriyanti_jumari@moe.edu.sg
Ms Toh Xin Rong toh_xin_rong@moe.edu.sg
Mdm Bai Meiqi bai_meiqi@moe.edu.sg
Ms Nurul Syakinah Binti Sahak nurul_syakinah_sahak@moe.edu.sg

2. Department Programmes

Approaches

Our key approaches to teaching of MTL include:

  • engaging students in purposeful and active learning in lessons through interactive, authentic and differentiated performance tasks:
  • conducting regular formative assessments to inform both teachers and students on the progress of learning; and
  • providing enrichment programmes for students to actively learn MTL and its associated culture to experience MTL as ‘a living language’.

Curriculum Programmes

  • In classroom learning, students are paired / grouped purposefully that facilitate critical thinking and active learning through discussions. Such strategies provide a platform for developing 21st century competencies (21CC) in our students in the area of communication and collaboration skills.
  • We also leverage on use of ICT tools and e-learning platforms to develop self-directed learning and collaborative learning as students acquire mastery of language skills. Lessons and earning tasks posted on Student Learning Space (SLS) provide opportunities for self-directedness in learning

Enrichment Programmes

  • MTL Fortnight and Cultural Camp Programme provide students with authentic opportunities in using MTL and experience the Chinese, Malay or Tamil cultures
  • Applied Learning Programme provide students with an authentic platform to put the language skills they learn in the classroom into an authentic context.
  • Reading Programme encourage students to read widely through selected reading materials and subscription of magazine.

Lower Sec – Stories books or short stories
Upper Sec - Newspapers or Students’ magazine

  • Conversation Chinese / Malay equip students with basic conversation skills in another language.
  • Learning Journeys to Asian countries provide students with overseas immersion opportunities to broaden their horizon and deepen their cross-cultural understanding.
  • Competitions - To provide opportunities for students to showcase their talents in MTL.

CL – Essay Writing Competition
        Bian Cai Competition编采比赛
ML – Sahibba Competition
TL -   Debate

Scroll to Top