Craft & Technology

1. Department Members

Name Email Address
Mr Ng Joon Yong (HOD Craft & Technology) ng_joon_yong@moe.edu.sg
Mr Ong Kian Lai Jonathan (HOD Student Guidance) jonathon_ong@moe.edu.sg
Mr Yeo Wee Sen Wilson (Assistant Year Head) yeo_wee_sen_wilson@moe.edu.sg
Mr Mohammad Zabid Bin Jabar mohammad_zabid_jabar@moe.edu.sg
Mr Chan Jie Yong chan_jie_yong@moe.edu.sg
Mr Chiz Poh Seng chiz_poh_seng@moe.edu.sg
Miss Kang Yiling Chanel kang_yiling_chanel@moe.edu.sg
Miss Kimberley Ong Sher-min kimberley_ong_sher_min@moe.edu.sg
Miss Kok Thye Hoe kok_thye_hoe@moe.edu.sg
Miss Lai Jia Hui lai_jia_hui@moe.edu.sg
Miss Lee Xiu-Ping lee_xiu-ping@moe.edu.sg
Mr Lin Kuen Ping lin_kuen_ping@moe.edu.sg
Miss Lin Yuzhi lin_yuzhi@moe.edu.sg
Miss Pooja Sahu pooja_sahu@moe.edu.sg
Miss Rohaishah Binti Hamid rohaishah_binte_hamid@moe.edu.sg
Miss Shen Jiaqi shen_jiaqi@moe.edu.sg
Mr Tan Bock Leong Christopher Jimmy tan_bock_leong_christopher@moe.edu.sg
Mr Tay Teng Joo tay_teng_joo@moe.edu.sg
Mr Ee Chong Choon ee_chong_choon@moe.edu.sg

2. Department Programmes

a.) Digital Art programme for the Secondary 2 students
Objective: To develop effective communicators to enhance art-making process.

The Art department organises an engaging 6 week module of digital art to unleash the inner artist and designer in our students. The students experience and learn to use Adobe Photoshop software to design an art piece. The skills the students develop from this program will help them should they go on to embark on other photo or design projects. To infuse National Education into this program, art pieces that the students create are themed around Singapore’s national icons or other aspects of Singapore’s culture.

b.) Museum Art Education package for the Upper Secondary Art students
Objective: To develop students in the different aspects involved in the art-making process. To immerse the Art students in Singapore’s real and authentic art scene, the school organises learning journeys to the museum and art exhibitions. These learning journeys include docent-led trips to the Singapore Art Museum (SAM) and Art Stage, an annual Asian Art Fair held in Singapore.

During their visits, students are given tasks to help enhance the learning experience. An example of such a task is identifying their favourite art piece(s). This task also requires them to give reasons to support their choice, identify the concept behind the artwork and identify the possible subject matters selected in the art making process. Back in school, the students share their ideas with each other during art lesson . This is followed by a discussion with their teachers on localising the concepts and identifying suitable subject matter. The sharing of these ideas help to enrich the students and this eventually translates into their art-making process back in the classroom.

c.) Lower Secondary Design & Create Curriculum
Objective: To develop effective communicators and creative thinkers.

The lower secondary Design and Create curriculum allows students to experience the entire design process from identifying problems to the creation of solutions. They have the opportunity to pick up basic sketching skills which allows them to communicate their ideas effectively in their design journals. They are exposed to different ideation techniques which can be used to generate better design solutions, honing their creative thinking skills. Students also get to realise their design ideas by creating artefacts using various machines and tools in the workshop.

d.) Sketching Module for the Upper Secondary D&T students
Objective: To develop effective communicators to enhance design communication.

In the sketching module workshop, students learn how to create isometric and exploded drawings. They are also taught how to use different colouring mediums to apply rendering techniques such as scraping chalk and colour pencils. These skills are showcased in their project coursework done in class.

e.) Fusion Food Project for Lower Secondary Food & Consumer Education Students
Objective: To nurture critical and inventive thinking, as well as cultivate globally aware citizens.

All students undertake a Fusion Food Project during the second semester of their second year in Peirce. This project begins with students being introduced to Singapore’s local foods and to the concept of fusion food, which is the melding of dishes from two different cuisines. Students are then tasked to research and develop their very own fusion dish which they cook at the end of the year. In doing so, not only are students immersed in Singapore’s vibrant food culture, but they are also exposed to different cuisines from around the world. This project not only nurtures critical and inventive thinking, but also cultivates them as globally aware citizens.

3. Photos